The thing around your neck

the thing around your neck is a short story which is part of the book “the thing around your neck” by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. This is by far my favorite story of the book because I love the way it is written, the writer uses “you” to talk about the main character of the story instead of using “she” or “her” this makes me feel more involved in the story even though I can’t really identify with the main character. I really like this narration technique because I had never seen it in a story before (it kind of reminds me of hypnosis). I can however, identify with the situation she is in, the feeling of being in completely new and different environment. I have moved quite a lot in my life and I always feel like she did in the beginning. A mix of excitement and homesickness, the expectations you had and the reality of it, having to make new friends. obviously our 2 experiences are very different but through this feeling I have also had which the author explains really well I am able to connect in a way with the character (more so than compared to the other stories).

Leave a Reply

